Frequently Asked Questions
Security Guard (G)

1. What is a "contract" Security Guard?

Any person employed by a licensed private patrol operator who provides services as a
security guard and is registered by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services as a
security guard.

2. What are the requirements for registering as a California Security Guard?

The general requirements for a Security Guard are:

Be at least 18 years old
Undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of
Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); and
Complete a 40-hour course of required training. The training and exam may be
administered by any private patrol operator or by a certified training facility.

40 Hour California Security Guard Training Requirement

Date of Completion Training Hours Needed
Prior to Being Assigned on Post 8 Hours
Training Required within the First 30 Days 16 Hours
Training Required within the First Six Months 16 Hours
TOTAL HOURS 40 HOURS

3. What is the length of term for a Security Guard registration?

A security guard registration is valid for two years.

4. Can I verify receipt of my Security Guard application?

Yes. Please contact the Bureau at (916) 322-4000.

5. When does my California Security Guard registration expire?

A security guard registration expires the day after the expiration date on the card. You have
60 days grace period in which you can pay a delinquent fee (see fee schedule). After 60
days if you have not renewed, you must reapply as a new applicant.

6. If I lost my security guard registration, or it was destroyed or damaged, how do I obtain
a duplicate?

You may request a duplicate registration by submitting a written request, explaining the
circumstances, along with a $10 fee to the Bureau. Please allow six to eight weeks for
replacement.

7. Can a family member, such as father to son, give the power to arrest test to that
individual who is applying for a Security Guard registration?

Yes, if they are licensed or delegated by a licensed authority to do so.

8. How do I notify the Bureau of my change of address?

You must notify the Bureau in writing within 30 days of an address change. Be sure to
include your Security Guard registration number, name, previous address, new address,
date of birth, and Social Security number. Please print or type information.

9. Can a California Security Guard work for more than one employer?

Yes, as long as he/she is an employee, on payroll with the proper payroll deductions
being made.

10. How does a California Security Guard renew his/her registration?

Submit a renewal application/letter of request and fees for renewal. Mail the request to:

Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
P.O. Box 989002
West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002

Application and renewal fees should be submitted to the Bureau at least 60-90 days prior
to the expiration date. You need to submit your request for renewal as soon as possible to
allow the Bureau time to process your renewal and get your renewed registration returned
to you.

11. I have completed 832 PC training. Can I obtain a Security Guard registration?

No. In order to get the Bureau's registration/permit; you must complete the Bureau's
training.

12. Can an emancipated minor apply for a Security Guard registration?

No. The law allows no exceptions to the age requirement.

13. I am changing employers; should I send in a new Security Guard registration
application?

No. A guard registration authorizes you to work as a Security Guard for any Private Patrol
Operator or in-house employer.

14. I was denied a Security Guard registration. When can I reapply?

You may submit a new application one year from the date of denial.

15. I received a 1203.4 dismissal on my conviction. Do I still need to report the conviction
on my application?

Yes. You still must report the conviction.



Firearms Permit (FQ)

1. What are the requirements for obtaining a Firearms Permit?

To apply for a firearms permit you must:

Take a 14-hour course  in the carrying and use of firearms given by a firearms training
instructor certified by the Department of Consumer Affairs.
Pass the written and range exams given at the end of the course.
Submit an application with appropriate fees.
Be a United States citizen or have permanent legal alien status.
Undergo a criminal history review

2. What is the application process and how long does it take?

The application process takes approximately six months to complete.

3. Can a simulator be used in place of qualifying at the shooting range?

Yes. A simulator may be used to qualify.

4. Is there a minimum age requirement?

The minimum age requirement for a Firearms Permit is 18 years of age.

5. Will the firing range provide a handgun if I do not possess one?

A student needs to call the range to make those arrangements.

6. I have completed 832 PC training. Can I obtain a Firearms Permit?

No. To be issued a Firearms Permit you must complete the Bureau's training at a
Bureau-certified training facility.


7. Can I confirm that the Bureau received my Firearms Permit application?

Yes. You must contact the Bureau at (916) 322-4000. It takes approximately six weeks
from the date we receive an application until it is entered into the computer. It takes
approximately four to six months to complete the process of issuing a permit. It is
recommended that you wait at least four months before calling to check on the status of
your Firearms Permit.

8. Is there a fee for a lost permit? How do I replace one?

Yes. You may request a duplicate permit by submitting a written request and a written
explanation of the circumstances, with a $10 fee. Please allow six to eight weeks for
replacement.

9. How do I notify the Bureau of my change of address?

You must notify the Bureau in writing within 30 days of an address change. Be sure to
include your permit number, name, previous address, new address, date of birth and
Social Security number. Please print information.

10. If the Bureau misspelled my name on the Firearms Permit, is there a fee for a new
one?

No. Submit a written request for a new permit. It will take approximately two weeks to
receive a replacement permit.

11. When does a Firearms Permit expire? Is there any grace period?

A Firearms Permit expires on the date of expiration and there is no grace period. If you do
not apply for renewal before the date of expiration, you must re-qualify and start over as a
new applicant.

12. What is required for renewal of a Firearms Permit?

Firearm permits expire two years from the date of issuance. An applicant must requalify
four times during the life of the permit: twice during the first year after the date of issuance,
and twice during the second year. Requalifications must be at least four months apart.

13. My Firearms Permit has expired and the renewal is being processed. Can an expired
permit and proof of payment be used until the renewal is received?

No. You must have a current permit and registration in order to legally carry a firearm.

14. Can I use rubber bullets?

Yes.

15. If I qualified with a revolver, can I carry (on duty) an "automatic" as long as it is the
same caliber? If I qualified with a .38 revolver and a .45 automatic, can I carry a .45
revolver since I qualified with a revolver and an automatic?

The caliber must be the same, however the firearms permit does not specify revolver or
automatic.

16. How do I change the caliber on my Firearms Permit?

You must:
as of now retake the class and

(a) Re-qualify at a firing range.
(b) Submit a firearms permit application obtained from the training facility. There is no fee
for adding a caliber. It takes approximately three to six weeks to receive the new Firearms
Permit. However, a duplicate license with the new caliber is $10.

17. I was denied a Firearms Permit. When can I reapply?

You may submit a new application one year from the date of denial.

18. I received a 1203.4 dismissal on my conviction. Do I still need to report the conviction
on my application?

Yes. You still must report the conviction.

19. I was only convicted of a misdemeanor. Can the Bureau still deny my Firearms
Permit?

Yes. A conviction does not have to be a felony for the Bureau of Security and Investigative
Services to deny the issuance of a firearms permit.

20. Can I verify receipt of my application?

Yes. Please contact the Bureau at (916) 322-4000.

21. Does the Bureau issue concealed weapons permits?

No. To obtain a concealed weapon permit contact you're local sheriff's office or police
department.

22. How do I report a weapons incident?

A Security Guard who uses/discharges a weapon while on duty must:

(1). Report the incident to your employer within 24 hours.
(2). File a written report with the director, Department of Consumer Affairs within seven
days.
(3). You may also be required to file a report with local law enforcement agencies.

Failure to do so may result in a fine.
Active Security Training
24404 Vermont Ave. #308, Harbor City, Ca 90710
(310)325-5870